The Aftermath.

11 Oct

I did not use the vanilla cupcake that I posted before, because I didn’t have cake flour. Hmm..I wonder what is the difference between all the different types of flour.

I used this recipe instead:

Taste The Rainbow Cupcakes
Recipe adapted from Cupcakes by Shelly Kaldunski
Makes about 18 cupcakes
INGREDIENTS

2-1/2 cups AP flour
3 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1-1/2 cup sugar
12 tbsp (1-1/2 sticks) butter, room temperature
2 large egg + 2 egg white, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup milk

INSTRUCTIONS
To make cupcakes—
Preheat oven to 350F. Line cupcake pan with paper liners.
In a large bowl, sift flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside. In a stand mixer, fitted with flat beater, beat the sugar and butter until well combined, about 2-3 minutes. Add eggs and egg whites, one at a time, beating on low.
Then add vanilla. Gradually add flour mixture in 3 additions, alternating with milk in 2 additions, ending with the flour mixture.
Divide the batter into 6 different bowls. Add food coloring per bowl and mix to combine until you get the vibrant color you want. Add batter color by color, about 1 tbsp of each color until all the colors fill the cupcake liner about 1/2-2/3 full.
Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from pan and cool completely on a wire cooling rack.

It’s from http://iheartcuppycakes.com/2009/04/12/taste-the-rainbow/ However, I didn’t add food coloring this time. I wanted to avoid using this recipe because it doesn’t stay moist for too long. 😦 Cupcake Maker #2 says that it tasted dry 2 days after it was made.

Blah.

While I was making the chocolate cupcakes, I added less than the recipe called for (2 cups): I added one cup instead. Ah! It was bland. What would I do?!

I decided to core the cupcakes, and add either strawberry or nutella in the middle of the cupcakes. Yummy! 😀

Also, this was my first time making buttercream frosting. I don’t like it. 4 cups of sugar? Are you kidding me? I added 2 cups and it was already too sweet! I felt the need to add a lot of milk and vanilla extract to it. I still like whipped cream or cream cheese frosting.

Leave a Reply

